How to find subgenre

“Telling True Stories” part III introduces various nonfiction genres including the character profile, travel narrative, memoir, personal essay, commentary, historical writing, investigative reporting and radio documentary.

Journalist in action

Journalist in action

Journalists have the best occupation in the world. I can say this proudly because I am dying in love with this field. First, I get to connect with people whether they are famous or not. Second, I can approach them without being a weird person. Third, I can learn from various field of studies without being enrolled in college. Lastly, it’s real. I always write about the real people and places.

I strongly agreed with a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Tomas Alex Tizon‘s “Every Profile is an Epic Story.” He said since the subjects that I will be interviewing are living an epic story, I must write as best as I could. I think his point of view goes with the point that Donna Britt made in her essay “Columns: Intimate Public Conversations.”

American Author Donna Britt

American Author Donna Britt

Britts made a great point saying ” Everything has meaning,” which means we can learn something from everyone. Also, she believes “Everything is personal.” According to her point of view, whether I cover President Barack Obama or a homeless lady who picks up cans on Hudson Ave., the stories would be equally valuable.

“I don’t believe there are boring people or boring stories. Invariably, when someone climbs a building and shoots seventeen people, his neighborhood will say, ‘He was the quietest person, he was almost boring,’ That’s not a boring person, but an undiscovered person.”

– Donna Britt

Casey as the console master

Casey as the console master

One of my favorite things I learned from my freshman and sophomore year is how to run a radio show. I know how to run a console and I understand how radio waves go out to my listeners’ radios. Jim Allison said, “Radio is inherently narrative.” It’s true. I had to describe the five senses through words. As a radio talk show DJ, I had to be extra narrative when I spoke to my listeners. My radio show wouldn’t have been as cozy as the former President Franklin Roosevelt‘s Fireside Chats, but I loved being part of my listener’s time. I like being a performer, in fact I feel like I can deliver better stories on air than on print. I believe the better narrative writing skills I have, the better performer I shall be.

