Lox Bagel

Dreidels-Kosher-Cafe

Dreidels Kosher Cafe is located on the first floor of the CC at UAlbany

New York is the state with the highest proportion of Jews. Therefore when I was attending UAlbany, a state school from the capital city of New york, I was blessed with Kosher food.

My favorite menu for breakfast was a lox bagel with a cup of coffee that was proudly brewed by Starbucks.

I didn’t know a lox bagel was Jewish thing until my Jewish friend randomly pointed out my favorite food is Jewish thing. (Duh, I was getting the bagel from the kosher place all the time.)

The line at Dreidel’s kosher cafe was always insanely long. Toward the end of the month, they would run out of smoked salmon that I had to wait for them to restock smoked salmon.

I was scolded by the cashier numerous times for brining in outside of food while I was picking up a bagel. I honestly didn’t get why it was such a big deal, but no one bother to explain to me.

Since I moved to New York City, which has the second most Jewish population and Israel being the first, I kept my eating habit from Albany. A lox bagel frequently make it to my brunch list.

It’s so easy to make and most importantly it’s delicious!

When I get a pack of salmon from Trader Joe’s, it usually lasts about a week. When I try to save time and money on my early day meals, this menu is the way to go.

A Lox Bagel

A Lox Bagel

 

Lox Bagel:

  • 1 Bagel
  • Cream Cheese
  • Smoked Salmon

 

 

